We've had many of you send us questions and concerns on whether the Protein Bars on our website are suitable for Muslim Halaal Dietary requirements. While we have responded to each of you individually, the volume of you asking the same questions merits us having a more detailed explanation on our website.
Foremost, it must be understood that this is our personal research and investigation on the matter, should you have found to the contrary we urge you to reach out to us with your findings so that we may share them with concerned parties.
As presented above, Herbalife Protein Bars product specifications indicate that the product contains Gelatin.
Gelatin (or gelatine) is a translucent, colourless, flavourless food ingredient, derived from collagen taken from animal body parts. It is brittle when dry and gummy when moist. It may also be referred to as hydrolyzed collagen, collagen hydrolysate, gelatine hydrolysate, hydrolyzed gelatine, and collagen peptides after it has undergone hydrolysis (the chemical breakdown of a compound due to reaction with water). It is commonly used as a gelling agent in food, medications, drug and vitamin capsules, photographic films and papers, and cosmetics.
Gelatin produced in the United States are derived primarily from pigskins or cattle bones.
2. Online Documentation
Herbalife has an online repository which is accessible to Herbalife Independent Distributors. Included in that repository are documents/letters from various Halaal/Kosher and other bodies declaring specific products suitable according to it's own standards.
We have not found any documents in this repository that clarifies whether the gelatin used in Herbalife Protein Bars are from Halaal sources.
3. Certificate circulated on Social Media
It came to our attention that there was a Halaal Certificate circulated on social media some time in 2018. There is no clarity on the authenticity of this certification. Furthermore, there is explicit indication on the certificate in question, that the certificate is only valid for one year.
4. Different Opinions on the Jurisprudence aspect
Some Halaal certification bodies (as well as Muslim consumers) have a difference of opinion on whether the metamorphosis process renders the final product fit for Muslim consumption. As an attempt to satisfy consumers with the opposing views, we have contacted the aforementioned certification body in order to clarify which opinion they subscribe to. We had sent an email enquiry to firstname.lastname@example.org regarding their organisation's certification standards on bovine/gelatin (in regard to metamorphosis) on Tuesday, 8th October 2019 and we have yet to receive any feedback or response.
Based on all of the above, we would urge Muslim consumers who are concerned about the Halaal dietary conformity to err on the side of caution.
Once again if the reader has more evidence or more findings on this matter, we urge you to reach out to us with your findings so that we may share them with others.
In general, any brand of protein bar usually contains either hydrolysed collagen or hydrolysed gelatin. Such ingredients are often derived from bovine bone and cartilage. Basically, ground up cow (or pig) hooves and carcasses that are cooked until they become a gel-like substance. This ingredient is generally added to protein bars so as to prolong their soft textures.
If you're looking for a more suitable alternative, the Herbalife Express bars are free from collagen or gelatin, and therefore more suitable for Muslim consumption. They are quite delicious and worth a consideration.
They are however more aimed to be convenient meal-replacement bars rather than protein-snacks.
If you would like some guidance or assistance with your wellness goals - please consider filling our complimentary wellness evaluation on our website for a personalised breakdown of our recommendations to help you attain your goals (It's free!).
If you feel this message will help one or more of your family or friends, please feel free to share it with them.